[Proposal] Engage Olympus Pro To Purchase Protocol-Owned Liquidity With NDX

Hi everyone,

I’d like to propose a fairly dramatic change to our liquidity mining framework.

It’s relatively hot off the presses, but Olympus have released Olympus Pro, a mechanism for protocols to purchase the liquidity that they wish to promote for certain tokens rather than rent it through liquidity mining.

I think this is a great idea, and one that we should seriously consider.

I’m going to give one of my famously lengthy chats about the why, and then the how.

Disclaimer: I do not hold any OHM, and have not done for several months now. @Glueeater is a member of the Indexed Sigma Committee, and is heavily involved with Olympus.

The Context

Absolute beginner summary: Protocols often use the power of their treasury (in the form of their native token) to reward third-parties that provide liquidity on DEXes: this is often in the form of giving out token X for providing liquidity for X/ETH. This is known as a ‘pool2’ for historical reasons, and it’s a double-edged sword: it makes the token liquid, but at the cost of downwards selling pressure on token X, as people claim their rewards and trade them for ‘safe havens’, primarily to offset impermanent loss within their LP tokens that is manifested from other people doing the same thing.

More importantly, this can only ever be a temporary solution: once the rewards of token X end, there is no incentive beyond trading fees for people to continue providing that liquidity. So, it disappears. The net result is that liquidity is gone, and you’ve handed out potentially millions in token X with nothing to show for it beyond having turned a profit for some providers, and subjected token X to an absolute beating in the interim.

The Problem